All posts by 120

EIGD 2014 – Post Eventum

That’s it, the EIGD (European Indie Game Days) 2014 are already over. Was it a good event? Indeed it was! I’m gonna tell you all about it, but first, why not put some music on, maybe some Sista M tunes :

A very dense event

EIGD’s third edition has been occuring in Montreuil (near Paris, France), on novembre 27th and 28th, and I was there, with about 200 other participants, most of them independant game developers, artists, game designers etc. Other trades were also present, from finance to marketing, and everything in between, like middleware and technical solutions…

It was quite a dense event: during the span of two days, something like fifteen talks and panels followed one another. The pace was thus pretty frantic. Sometimes, one has to make choices – not because two talks occur at the same time (it nevers happens), but because one has to decide between listening to a talk or show one’s game to a potential partner, another dev, etc.

Contrary to what I did for last year’s event, I came this year to the EIGD with a well advanced project and a playable demo, so I tried to make playtest sessions and opportunities for feedback and advices a priority, and I don’t really regret it.

Many meetings

I had the pleasure of presenting our game to various superstars from the industry, including Frédérick Raynal (Alone in the Dark, 2Dark…), Rami Ismail of Vlambeer (Super Crate Box, Ridiculous Fishing, Nuclear Throne…), Alex Houdent (Globz), Sos Sosowski (Mc Pixel…), Zuraïda Buter (Global Game Jam, and many other things), or Thierry Platon (EIGD’s organizer).

It’s clearly a big opportunity, being able to gather the opinions and advices from so many talented persons, even more so when their feedback has been positive and encouraging, and their critics relevant and useful. The concentration of Game Designers in the event was also significant. Same with game journalists. I thus made not only a nice loot of advices, but also harvested lots of contacts.

It all translated to many playtest notes that I still have to sort and implement, now that my sobriety is slowly coming back to me (the EIGD is also a very festive and convivial event, once the talks are over…)

Pitching QLRZ

The last part of the event was a Pitch My Game session, during wich I had to be brave and go onstage to present QLRZ with microphone, giant screen projection and all that jazz. I can’t say it was a pleasant moment for me, because of the panic I tend to experiment when being in front of an audience of more than one or two persons.

But I did survive, and hope I’ll do better next time, by talking louder, and pacing myself more. With that being said, the feedback on that part was also quite positive:

Panels

About the talks and panels, I particularly liked the “10 minutes for an engine” panel, that presented a few game development frameworks and solutions. Each participant had made a different choice, and it translated into a very instructive and lively discussion about the strength and weaknesses of each.

The “Design a game for Oculus Rift” was also very interesting, although the discussion seemed to materialize only towards the end ; there obviously was still a lot to be said about these new devices and the VR technology, even though it’s already an old pursuit of our industry, more than 20 years in the making, it’s still in the early stages of its development. I also liked the opportunity that was given between talks to test the devices, an experience I recommend.

Another recommendation, if you happen to make games, is that you come to next year’s EIGD!

Our news for November 2014

Hey QLRZ, what’s kickin’?

– we’ll demo our game on november 18th at the Robin des Jeux games store

– QLRZ is part of the European Indie Game Days Awards 2014’s selection. You can vote for us (and other games) on their website : http://www.eigd.org/fr/content/qlrz. Votes are opened until november 24th.

– QLRZ will be available for demo / test during this year’s EIGD (27 and 28 november 2014 in Montreuil, France. All the info is at http://www.eigd.org/, don’t fret and come say hello!

– we’ve also been selected to present the game at the november 28th’s Pitch My Game. It’s a free event where you can discover the next videogames hits. Again, all the information you need is at Pitch My Game

Video games, a pen story

Video games has a lot in common with pens.

And by “pens”, I mean “penis”. Pens are all about sex, and quite often video games are too.

As long as men (and women, and trans, and…) were painting with their pigment covered fingers, with a stick covered in ashes, with a carved feather dipped in ink, writing was a relatively asexual exercice. But as soon as the fountain pen was invented (by Petrache Poenaru, in 1827), it’s another story entirely. The dip pen was not enough anymore, they had to add a “reservoir” (which made a nice comeback later on, in rubber form), and an ink cartridge, that had to be pierced upon insertion, do I need to say more?

When one sees teenagers blithely killing each other in the latest FPS, holding massive penis surrogates between their virtual hands, “unloading” bursts of molten lead or energy lasers (thankfully, also virtual ones), while claiming they spent last night having sexual encounters with your mom… seems hard not to see the implied symbolic significance. Heck, just the word “FPS” is damn close to the noise my mouth makes when I come. I guess for some people it sounds more like “MMORPG”… but I digress.

So, I can hear you already: “what’s all that got to do with anything, dude?”.

Ok, I used a bic pen to draw the very first concepts for QLRZ. But more importantly, if I take a step back to try and analyze the symbolic content of the game I’ve been working on for more than a year, I can hear the manic laughter of the little Freud I have inside. (Don’t you have one?)

Totem and taboo
Totem and taboo
In QLRZ, the otherness is represented by meteors that try to crush you, which is in itself an interesting way of looking at life, and the player’s defence consists of totems (Freud : “and taboos? ROFLMAO…”) that shoot pretty colorful energy streams.

Come on, if this is not a metaphor, I don’t know what is.

Sure, I could throw together a wall of text about combining colors before releasing those energy shots, and how this mechanic is actualy an introduction to tantric practices or sublimation, but let’s be serious just for one second… and let’s try to see the bright side of things. First, Sigmund is dead, and secondly, today is pizza day at the cafeteria (yay!).

#GamerGate initiator just got pwnd at Call of...
#GamerGate initiator just got pwnd at Call of…

So… as a male, white, westerner, what did you expect me to do? Revolt? Subvert? Yeah, well, maybe in the next game, or the one after that. Until then, just try to beat my highscore, you wanker!

Oh, and don’t chew on that pen… you don’t know where it’s been.

Climbing Mount Everest in thongs and panties

Oh haï, visitor from the interwebz.

On this blog, I’m going to tell you about the adventures of a programmer who one day thought to himself: “hey, with all those modern technologies, it’s beginning to be really possible to create a video game”.

The adventures of a crazy person, and that of all the other crazy persons who agreed to follow him on this crazy bet. The adventures of myself, and the hyper talented people I managed to convince to help me with this enterprise.

Because, ok, tools are here, you can learn them, and find the answers to most of your questions on foras, but one has to admit that making a video game without prior knowledge is pretty hard.

To create a video game is an attempt to climb Mount Everest from the north face in thongs and panties.

Ideas, contents, code to link all that, and make it FUN, because in video game there’s “game”, otherwise it would be called “video boring” or something, and honestly, who wants to lose its time with a “video boring” stuff ? (Ok, as you know, lots of people enjoy playing boring games…) Anyway, I wanted to make a video GAME, and many more after that.

But before I make lots of them, I will have to finish at least one, and that one will be… QLRZ.

Tous les articles par 120

QLRZ early access disponible sur itch.io

Le grand jour est enfin arrivé, presque 700 jours après l’idée initiale et le premier prototype, QLRZ (colorz) est désormais disponible sous forme de pre-alpha en accès anticipé, pour windows & android !

Vous pouvez télécharger le jeu gratuitement sur http://qlrz.itch.io/qlrz.

Et vous pouvez aussi soutenir le jeu en laissant une contribution sonnante et trébuchante, en parlant du jeu à vos amis, et en nous donnant vos impressions.

EIGD 2014 – Post Eventum

Et voilà, les EIGD (European Indie Game Days) 2014 c’est déjà fini. C’était bien ? C’était bien ! Je vous raconte ça, mais d’abord, pourquoi ne pas se mettre un petit son sympathique, par exemple un peu de Sista M :

Un événement bien dense

Les EIGD 2014, donc, se sont tenus à Montreuil les 27 et 28 novembre, et j’y étais, accompagné d’environ 200 personnes, la plupart développeurs/ses, graphistes, game designers etc. de jeux vidéo indépendants. D’autres métiers étaient aussi présents, de la finance au marketing, en passant par les représentants de diverses solutions techniques et autres middlewares…

C’est un événement assez dense : en deux jours, ce sont une quinzaine de conférences, panels et tables rondes qui se succèdent à un rythme assez effréné. Il faut parfois faire des choix, non parce que deux conférences ont lieu en même temps (ça n’arrive jamais), mais parce qu’il faut parfois décider entre assister à une conférence ou présenter son jeu à un partenaire potentiel, un autre développeur etc.

Cette année, contrairement à l’année dernière, je suis venu aux EIGD avec un projet bien avancé et une démo jouable, j’ai donc beaucoup mis l’accent sur les sessions de playtest et les opportunités d’obtenir des retours et des conseils, et je ne le regrette pas (trop).

Plein de rencontres

J’ai eu le plaisir de présenter notre jeu à diverses pointures de l’industrie, notamment à Frédérick Raynal (Alone in the Dark, 2Dark…), Rami Ismail de Vlambeer (Super Crate Box, Ridiculous Fishing, Nuclear Throne…), Alex Houdent (Globz), Sos Sosowski (Mc Pixel…), Zuraïda Buter (qui organise entre autres la Global Game Jam), ou encore Thierry Platon (qui organise les EIGD).

C’est clairement une chance de pouvoir recueillir l’avis et les conseils de tant de personnes de talent, surtout quand les retours sont aussi positifs et encourageants, et les critiques pertinentes et utiles. La grande concentration de Game Designers au sein de l’événement était aussi appréciable, de même que celle de journalistes spécialisés. En plus de ce loot inestimable de bons conseils et retours, j’ai aussi fait une belle récolte de contacts.

Tout ça s’est transformé en plusieurs pages de notes qu’il me reste à trier et implémenter, maintenant que les vapeurs des divers liquides ingurgités durant les soirées qui ont suivi les conférences commencent à se dissiper (car les EIGD, c’est aussi un événement convivial et festif…)

Pitching QLRZ

La dernière partie de l’événement était consacrée à une session de Pitch My Game, durant laquelle j’ai pris mon courage à deux mains pour monter sur scène et présenter QLRZ sur écran géant. Je ne dirais pas que c’était un moment agréable pour moi, étant légèrement pris de panique face à un auditoire dépassant une ou deux personnes.

J’ai néanmoins survécu, et j’espère que je ferai mieux la prochaine fois, en parlant plus fort, et en prenant un peu plus mon temps. Cela dit, là encore les retours étaient plutôt positifs :

Panels

Concernant les conférences et tables rondes, je retiendrais notamment le panel « 10 minutes for an engine« , qui présentait plusieurs solutions dédiées au développement de jeux vidéo, chaque intervenant ayant choisi une voie différente, cela donnait une discussion très animée et très instructive sur les forces et faiblesse de chacune.

Le panel « Design a game for Oculus Rift » était aussi très intéressant, même si la discussion a semblé se concrétiser seulement vers la fin ; il restait manifestement beaucoup à dire sur cette plateforme et la technologie VR qui, même si c’est un serpent de mer qui a déjà plus de 20 ans, en est encore à ses balbutiements. J’ai apprécié d’avoir l’occasion d’enfiler plusieurs casques VR entre les conférences, une expérience que je vous recommande.

Ce que je vous recommande aussi, si vous faites des jeux, c’est de venir aux EIGD l’année prochaine !

Quelques actualités pour Novembre 2014

Quelles sont les nouvelles pour QLRZ en novembre ?

– le jeu sera en démonstration, le 18 novembre à partir de 19h30, à la Boutique Robin des Jeux

– QLRZ fait partie de la sélection des European Indie Game Days Awards 2014. Vous pouvez voter pour nous (et pour d’autres jeux) sur leur site, moyennant une petite inscription indolore de rien du tout : http://www.eigd.org/fr/content/qlrz. Les votes sont ouverts jusqu’au 24 novembre !

– QLRZ sera disponible en démonstration tout au long des EIGD (27 et 28 novembre 2014 à Montreuil, toutes les infos sur http://www.eigd.org/, n’hésitez pas à venir nous voir pour tester un jeu original et tellement beau que la Chapelle Sixtine parait bien peu interactive en comparaison.

– on est aussi sélectionnés pour participer au Pitch My Game du 28 novembre, événement gratuit qui vous permettra de découvrir les futurs hits du jeu vidéo. Là encore toutes les informations sont sur le site de Pitch My Game

Le jeu vidéo, une histoire de stylo

Le jeu vidéo c’est beaucoup une histoire de stylo.

Et par « stylo », je veux dire « bite ». Enfin, le stylo, c’est une histoire de sexe, et souvent le jeu vidéo aussi.

Tant qu’il s’agit de peindre avec ses doigts plongés dans des pigments, avec un bâton enduit de suie, avec une plume taillée (lol) trempée dans l’encre, l’écriture est un acte tout à fait asexué. Par contre, quand on invente le stylo plume (Petrache Poenaru, en 1827), ça devient autre chose. La plume sergent major, ça ne suffisait plus, on passe au « réservoir » (qui fera plus tard un come-back dans le caoutchouc), puis à la « cartouche », dont la simple insertion dans le corps du stylo, déflorage d’hymen inclus, est méta-sexuel en soit (comme vous le dira tout chasseur qui se respecte).

Quand tu vois des adolescents qui s’entretuent allègrement sur le dernier FPS, tenant entre leurs mains virtuelles un énooooorme substitut pénien, « déchargeant » des rafales de plomb fondu ou de lasers énergétiques, eux aussi heureusement virtuels, tout en prétendant avoir passé la soirée précédente à entretenir des relations sexuelles avec ta mère ou celle d’untel… difficile de ne pas voir la charge symbolique de l’exercice. Déjà FPS, on dirait le son que fait ma bouche quand je jouis. J’imagine qu’il y a des gens pour qui ça fait plutôt MMORPG…

Bon, je t’entends d’ici : « c’est quoi le rapport avec la choucroute, sans déconner ? ».

Alors, certes, j’ai utilisé un stylo de type Bic pour dessiner le tout premier concept de QLRZ. Mais surtout, quand je prends un peu de recul pour analyser le contenu symbolique du jeu que je développe depuis un peu plus d’un an, le petit Freud en moi se bidonne.

Totem et tabou
Totem et tabou
Dans QLRZ, l’altérité est représentée par des météores qui te tombent sur la gueule, ce qui est déjà une perspective intéressante sur l’existence, et le joueur dispose pour se défendre de totems (Freud : « et tabous ? ROFLMAO… ») qui projettent de jolis jets d’énergie colorés.

Avoue, si c’est pas un peu une métaphore, tout ça, je sais pas ce que c’est.

Je pourrais te faire une tartine au sujet de la gymnastique combinatoire des couleurs avant relâchement de la charge énergétique, et essayer de te faire croire que c’est une introduction au tantrisme ou à la sublimation, mais bon, soyons sérieux… et voyons le bon côté des choses. C’est à dire d’une part, que Sigmund est mort, et d’autre part qu’il y a des nouilles au self à midi. Oui, des nouilles au self.

L'inventeur du #GamerGate vient de se faire pwn à Call of...
L’inventeur du #GamerGate vient de se faire pwn à Call of…

En tant que mâle, blanc, occidental, qu’est-ce que tu voulais que je fasse ? Que je me révoltâsse ? Que je subvertisse ? Oui ben, ce sera pour le prochain jeu, ok ? Ou celui d’après. D’ici là, essaie de battre mon score, pine d’huître !

Et rends moi mon stylo, il s’appelle Popaul.